State of Rhode Island - Division of Taxation
Health Care Provider Assessment
Regulation HCPA 93-01
Assessment Rate - Residential Facilities for the Mentally Retarded
Pursuant to the provisions of Title 44, Chapter 50 of the Rhode Island General Laws entitled "The Health Care Provider Assessment Act" and specifically Section 44-50-3(e) of said Act, the Tax Administrator is directed to ensure that the assessment rate set forth in R.I.G.L. 44-50-3(c) does not exceed the maximum rate of assessment that the laws of the United States and/or any rules, regulations or standards issued thereunder, relating to health care provider assessments will allow without reduction in Federal financial participation.
Information received from the Director of the Rhode Island Department of Human Services, pursuant to the requirements of R.I.G.L. 44-50-3(e), indicates that final regulations proposed by the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services indicate that the maximum permissible rate of assessment will be 6 percent (6%) effective September 13, 1993.
As a result of the above, the Tax Administrator, pursuant to the provisions of R.I.G.L. 44-50-3(e), hereby changes the assessment rate set forth in 44-50-3(c) to 6 percent (6%) effective September 13, 1993.
R. GARY CLARK TAX ADMINISTRATOR
DATE: October 25, 1993
THIS REGULATION AMENDS AND SUPERCEDES EMERGENCY RULE HCPA 93-01 ENTITLED "ASSESSMENT RATE - RESIDENTIAL FACILITIES FOR THE MENTALLY RETARDED" PROMULGATED JULY 1, 1993.